Wednesday, May 27, 2015

The Joy of the Party

When one hears the term 'Central Committee,' it hearkens one back to an era of the Communist Party in the former Soviet Union. One envisions party apparatchiks marching through Red Square under the disdainful eye of the Premier, who also, like a certain former mayor, believe their job is a job for life.

Today, the term 'Central Committee' takes on a different meaning.

Each political party, both Democrat and Republican, have a 'Central Committee.'

It is the Board of Directors of the political party.

And just how does one become a member of a Central Committee?

You get elected to the Central Committee.

Like Joy Cicchinelli, wife of Massillon's Extraordinary former (and future) 'Independent' mayor, Frank Cicchinelli.

Joy Cicchinelli is a member of the Central Committee for the Democratic Party.

Just last year, Joy was elected by her neighbors in Massillon precinct 4D, the area comprising the homeowners around the Legends of Massillon Golf Course.

As has been discussed earlier, it appears the Cicchinellis have turned the homeowners around the Legends of Massillon Golf Course into a virtual political party.

And those homeowners, at least the Democratic homeowners, have chosen Joy Cicchinelli to serve on the Central Committee.

And to run for the Central Committee as a Democrat, a prospective candidate needs signatures from  Democratic voters.

We all know where this is headed, don't we?

The very first signature on Joy Cicchinelli's Democratic Petition for Candidate comes from her husband, our newly 'Independent' candidate for Mayor of Massillon, Frank Cicchinelli.

Frank Cicchinelli once more affirms that he is a "member of the Democratic Party" by signing this document.

So that his wife may get elected to the Central Committee of the Democratic Party.

Joy Cicchinelli, member of the Central Committee of the Democratic Party, must not have heard the word.

That 'Independence' has been declared by her husband.

That on the road to the Stark County Board of Elections, Frank Cicchinelli was blinded by the white, hot light of 'Independence.'




No more will he be shackled by the Democratic Party any longer than the 38 years he served as an elected Democrat.

This is no stunt, engineered for political expediency, to back door his way on to the November ballot, to avoid a Democratic primary election he lost once before to "that woman."

Absolutely not!

Frank Cicchinelli has truly seen the light, mended his Democratic ways, and is clutching tightly to his new found 'Independent' convictions.

While his wife serves as a member of the Central Committee of the Democratic Party.

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

It Must be an 'Independent'

As 38 year Massillon Democratic office holder, and 24 year Democratic mayor of Massillon, Frank Cicchinelli, slips off the manacles of the Democratic party and asserts his new found, deeply held change of political philosophy to 'Independent,' we have been presented with a few speed bumps on the road to his extraordinary return to the mayor's office.

Cicchinelli was the first signer on a Democratic Petition for Candidate for Democratic mayoral candidate J. David Ress. Ress also had Democratic Petition for Candidate forms circulated by former mayor Cicchinelli's wife, Joy, and his former Safety Service Director, Mike Loudiana.

Were they not aware of Frank Cicchinelli's change of political affiliation from Democrat to 'Independent?'

Didn't he tell his own wife?

Doesn't she want to join him in his Declaration of 'Independence?'

Was he tricked into signing a document where it clearly states, "We, the undersigned qualified electors of the State of Ohio, whose voting residence is in the county, city, village, or township, set opposite our names, and members of the Democratic Party, hereby certify..."?

Was his signing of this document an accident?

The problem is Cicchinelli is once more the first signer on a Democratic Petition for Candidate for Ward 4 Democratic council candidate Jill Creamer.

Surely this must also be a mistake, for why else would the 'Independent' Frank Cicchinelli sign yet another document where it clearly states, "Signatures on this petition should be from only one county and must be written in ink. Signatures on this petition shall be of persons who are of the same political party as stated above by the candidate."

Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on... forget it, who gets shamed when it happens a third time?

Because our currently 'Independent' candidate for mayor, and former 38 year Democratic elected official signed a third Democratic Petition for Candidate this year, this time for Democratic Councilman at Large Paul Manson.

He was the lucky 13th signer on this document. And by signing, he attested that he was, indeed, once more, a Democrat;

WHOEVER COMMITS ELECTION FALSIFICATION IS GUILTY OF A FELONY OF THE FIFTH DEGREE

PETITION FOR CANDIDATE

(This petition shall be circulated only by a member of the same political party as stated above by the candidate)

We, the undersigned qualified electors of the State of Ohio, whose voting residence is in the county, city, village, or township, set opposite our names, and members of the Democratic Party, hereby certify that Paul B. Manson, whose declaration of candidacy is filed herewith, is in our opinion, well qualified to perform the duties of the office or position to which the person desires to be elected.

Signatures on this petition should be from only one county and must be written in ink. Signatures on this petition shall be of persons who are of the same political party as stated above by the candidate.
 
Clearly, the evidence is convincing. It is crystal clear that former 38 year elected Democratic office holder Frank Cicchinelli is truly 'Independent,' and this epiphany of 'Independence' certainly isn't an attempt to back door his way on to the ballot for the fall election. Clearly, his 'Independent' convictions are deeply held. Signing these three documents, just this year, must have been an oversight on his part, and he may have briefly forgotten just how 'Independent' he is.

Or, perhaps, he remembered just how 'Independent' he is.
 
Shame on any one who doubts his sincerity.

Monday, May 25, 2015

Thursday, May 21, 2015

And Talks Like a Duck

As Massillon's former 6 term Democratic mayor, and 38 year Democratic officeholder has been released from the yolk of the Democratic party, and has declared his 'Independence,' a move we are confident was the result of a deeply held change in political philosophy, and not as some have suggested, the result of political expediency, he has encountered a bump, or two, on the road to his triumphant return to the mayor's office.

He is still acting like a Democrat.

Just this year, he signed a Democratic Petition for Candidate for his stalking horse candidate for mayor in the Democratic Primary, J. David Ress.

Not only did Cicchinelli claim;

We, the undersigned qualified electors of the State of Ohio, whose voting residence is in the county, city, village, or township, set opposite our names, and members of the Democratic Party, hereby certify that James D. Ress, whose declaration of candidacy is filed herewith, is in our opinion, well qualified to perform the duties of the office or position to which the person desires to be elected.

And followed these instructions;

Signatures on this petition should be from only one county and must be written in ink. Signatures on this petition shall be of persons who are of the same political party as stated above by the candidate.

Additionally, Cicchinelli's wife Joy, and former Safety & Service Director Mike Loudiana circulated J. David Ress Petitions for Candidate.

And Cicchinelli was the first signer on a Democratic Petition for Candidate for Ress.

So how can this be?

How can he be both 'Independent,' and a member of the Democratic Party?

He must have made a mistake.

That must be it.

He must have accidentally signed the J. David Ress Democratic Petition for Candidate.

It was clearly an accident.

Unless he signed another Petition for Candidate for a Democrat.

Which he did.

On January 21, 2015, Francis H. Cicchinelli, Jr. was the FIRST signature  on a Democratic Petition for Candidate for Massillon Ward 4 Council candidate Jill Creamer.

And once more attested that he was a Democrat;


WHOEVER COMMITS ELECTION FALSIFICATION IS GUILTY OF A FELONY OF THE FIFTH DEGREE

PETITION FOR CANDIDATE

(This petition shall be circulated only by a member of the same political party as stated above by the candidate)

We, the undersigned qualified electors of the State of Ohio, whose voting residence is in the county, city, village, or township, set opposite our names, and members of the Democratic Party, hereby certify that Jill E. Creamer, whose declaration of candidacy is filed herewith, is in our opinion, well qualified to perform the duties of the office or position to which the person desires to be elected.

Signatures on this petition should be from only one county and must be written in ink. Signatures on this petition shall be of persons who are of the same political party as stated above by the candidate.

 Ok, so he accidentally signed two Democratic Candidate for Petition documents, where he attested he was a Democrat.

But that must be it, just two accidents, right?

Nope. 

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

If It Walks Like a Duck

38 year Massillon Democratic elected official Frank Cicchinelli has had a political epiphany.

He is no longer bound by the chains of the Democratic party.

He has declared his political 'Independence.'

Now, of course, he didn't declare his 'Independence' merely because he wanted to run for mayor by skipping the Democratic primary, a primary he lost to the current mayor 4 years ago.

Oh no, we are confident he is a man of integrity, whose political philosophy has truly changed, and this 'Independence' was not a result of political expediency.

He is, of course, 'Independent' and therefore has nothing to do with his former party.

Because, if he was involved with his 'former' party, he wouldn't be 'Independent.'

And shouldn't be allowed to run for mayor.

On an unrelated note -

In order to run in the Democratic primary, a Democratic candidate must circulate a Declaration of Candidacy Party Primary Election 

Like Massillon Democratic candidate James D. "J. David" Ress circulated when he ran for mayor.

Which included the following language;

WHOEVER COMMITS ELECTION FALSIFICATION IS GUILTY OF A FELONY OF THE FIFTH DEGREE

PETITION FOR CANDIDATE

(This petition shall be circulated only by a member of the same political party as stated above by the candidate)

We, the undersigned qualified electors of the State of Ohio, whose voting residence is in the county, city, village, or township, set opposite our names, and members of the Democratic Party, hereby certify that James D. Ress, whose declaration of candidacy is filed herewith, is in our opinion, well qualified to perform the duties of the office or position to which the person desires to be elected.

Signatures on this petition should be from only one county and must be written in ink. Signatures on this petition shall be of persons who are of the same political party as stated above by the candidate.

And the very first signer on this particular petition?

Any guesses?

Give up?

Francis H. Cicchinelli, Jr. - January 21, 2015

So much for "and members of the Democratic Party"

So much for "Signatures on this petition shall be of persons who are of the same political party as stated above by the candidate."

So much for his Declaration of 'Independence'

But, of course, this must be a mistake. This must be the only Democratic Petition for Candidate he signed this year, right?

Nope.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

You Make the Call

As former 38 year Massillon Democratic elected officeholder Frank Cicchinelli was blinded by the light of 'Independence' on his road back to the mayor's office, an office he sees as rightfully, and perpetually his, some would argue he has made a few detours.

As we have been told, to run as an Independent, a prospective candidate for election must actually be an Independent.

Is our 'Extraordinary' former mayor truly repentant of his once Democratic political philosophy?

Has he seen the light, after 3 and 1/2 years of wandering the political desert after being slain by 'that woman' in the 2011 Democratic primary?

Is he 'Independent,' because his political philosophy has changed over time, and he no longer subscribes to the Democratic party philosophy?

or

Has he cloaked himself in the veil of 'Independence,' so he might navigate a return to what he sees as rightfully his, the office of mayor in the City of Massillon?

Did he avoid a Democratic primary he could never win?

Did he escape a process where he could never obtain 50% of the vote in any scenario only to enter a process where a more achievable 30% of the vote could once more make him a winner?

The question becomes, is Frank Cicchinelli truly an Independent, or is he merely trying to game the system to use his 'Independence' to back door his way back into the mayor's office?

Decide for yourself.

And we will be helping you decide for yourself starting tomorrow.

Monday, May 18, 2015

A Constitutional Right

"What it really boils down to is constitutional rights," said the 63 year-old Cicchinelli. "Whose place is it to say what I am? If a voter can change parties, then a candidate can do the same."
(The Repository, May 17, 2015).

Reporters Tim Botos and Allison Matas wrote an in-depth front page article for yesterday's Repository newspaper. If you haven't read it, we urge you to check it out.

It was about how long term Democratic politicians Tom Bernabei, a Democratic Stark County Commissioner, and 38 year Massillon Democratic officeholder, Frank Cicchinelli, were both struck by the same epiphany as they decided to run for mayor of their respective cities, Bernabei in Canton, and Cicchinelli in Massillon. They were no longer Democrats, they were 'Independent' and free from the yoke of the Democratic political party.

Now, the cynical among us might be thinking these gentlemen didn't really have a political epiphany. The cynical among us might believe Bernabei and Cicchinelli wanted to run for mayor while avoiding a Democratic primary they might well lose.

In Cicchinelli's case, a primary he has lost. Current mayor Kathy Catazaro-Perry ousted Cicchinelli from his quarter century rule as Massillon's mayor in 2011, besting Cicchinelli in the Democratic primary by a comfortable margin.

The cynical among us might be thinking Cicchinelli didn't want a rematch with Catazaro-Perry, knowing he could never get 50% of the vote among any reasonable segment of Massillon voters, and was seeking a back door route to reclaim what he sees as rightfully and perpetually his, the office of Mayor of Massillon.

Now, avoiding the Democratic primary he would have likely lost, and heading straight to the November election, where he will be but one of four likely candidates, where 30% of the vote might be just enough to herald his extraordinary return, might have been a more tempting scheme for Massillon's 'Mayor for Life.'

But, according to Ohio's laws and rules, he must actually be an Independent to run as an Independent.

And the Stark County Board of Elections will have to rule on his new found 'Independence.'

And, according to several of our faithful readers, Cicchinelli's recent actions may have been less than 'Independent,' which may lead the cynical among us to believe he hasn't adopted a new found 'Independent' political philosophy, that this is all a ruse, and that his political philosophy is what it has always been.

Cicchinelli for Cicchinelli.

Friday, May 15, 2015

Legendary Support

It appears our faithful readers missed us. They missed us sooooo much, they send us stuff every day.

And we thank them for their loyal support.

And among the items they shared with us yesterday were the mayoral nominating petitions of The Extraordinary One, King Francis the 'Independent.'

To run as an 'Independent' for mayor of Massillon, a candidate needs the signatures of 81 voters to be placed on the ballot.

King Francis the 'Independent' collected 154 signatures.

And after the crack Massillon Review research team thoroughly examined the signatures, they noticed our once and future mayor for life has Legendary support in his quest to return to the mayor's office.

Remember, the City of Massillon is divided into 26 voting precincts.

And 40% of the people who signed a petition wanting Cicchicnnelli to run an eighth time for mayor came from just one precinct?

Any guesses?

Are you sure?

40% of the people who want Cicchinelli back live in the neighborhood around the Legends of Massillon Golf Course.

And we were all shocked!

We were once famously told by former President Bill Clinton that the Era of Big Government is over.

Oh wait, King Francis the 'Independent' threw Bill Clinton out of town.

The Era of Big Government lives on at the Legends of Massillon Golf Course.

Subsidized government golf course views by a city in fiscal emergency must certainly be a prudent use of taxpayer dollars.

We are so curious as to what the Cicchinellis could have possibly promised their golf course neighbors to garner their support?

What could it possibly be?

Thursday, May 14, 2015

Those Were the Good Old Days

Councilwoman Michelle Del Rio Keller is waxing nostalgic about the good 'ol days.

She and Former Mayor Frank Cicchinelli's ultimate lap dog, Paul Manson, have decided its time to reorganize the Park Board.

According to her comments in Tuesday's Independent;
"Del Rio-Keller said she spoke to Law Director Perry Stergios about disbanding the board and to gauge if other advisory committees for the rec center and parks should be formed like the newly created golf advisory committee."
“I’ve sat on that board,” Del Rio-Keller said. “It can be a good positive board. We made good things happen and there weren’t any political bias.”
(The Independent, May 12, 2015)

Excuse us? Is there a typo here?

"We made good things happen and there weren't any political bias?"

Perhaps Del Rio Keller's memory has gotten is a bit fuzzy through the mists of time.

The Michelle Del Rio Keller we remember on the Park Board, as an appointee of former Mayor for Life King Francis the Independent, is a little different from the Michelle Del Rio Keller that Michelle Del Rio Keller remembers.

And on Massillon Review Throwback Thursday, we will be remembering the real Michelle Del Rio Keller, who played politics with something as simple as naming a park.

We take our faithful readers back to November of 2010, the halcyon days of the Parks Board, when everyone worked together merely to make the community better, a time when "there weren't any political bias"

Throwback Thursday Link of the Day

We hope this helps Del Rio Keller clear up her fuzzy memory of days gone by.

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

A Legendary Defeat

Massillon Fourth Ward Councilman, Shaddrick Stinson, worked tirelessly to show the homeowners at the Legends of Massillon Golf Course love.

He fought tirelessly to get the City to hire a $65,000 a year golf course manager and marketer.

The key priorities of his re-election campaign were laid out in a Repository election story;

"He would like to continue to move the city out of fiscal emergency status and he would like to see a manager hired for the Legends of Massillon Golf Course."
(The Repository, April 13, 2015)

And the word on the street is that Councilman Stinson was so passionate about protecting the golf course for his Ward 4 constituents, and hiring a $65,000 per year golf course manager, he almost got in a fight over it, a physical confrontation, with a certain Parks Board member at the conclusion of the March Parks Board meeting. They had to be physically separated by Parks Board member Dave Irwin.

Shaddrick Stinson was clearly all in on his attempt to help the golf course and his constituent homeowners at the Legends of Massillon.

He and his campaign manager, Robert Spencer, repeatedly reached out to the Extraordinary One as he sat on his thrown in exile next at his home adjacent to the Golf Course.

Stinson promised to be 'Independent,' a word former mayor Cicchinelli is recently familiar with.

Stinson repeatedly opposed the current mayor on proposal after proposal so he could prove his 'independence ' of the mayor by doing whatever Councilman Paul Manson, a die hard Cicchinelli loyalist, wanted.

He desperately wanted to fit in with the Cicchinelli city council faction.

He did everything Team Cicchinelli wanted him to do.

He supported Team Cicchinelli on every issue.

So, of course, he was rewarded at election time, right?

Nope.

Team Cicchinelli had other ideas.

Stinson got crushed in the Massillon Ward 4 Democratic Primary.

Just crushed.

Team Cicchinelli member Jill Creamer beat Stinson 61.8% to 38,2%.

So, with a margin of defeat so large, we must assume that Stinson was repudiated through out the entire 4th ward, right?

Nope.

Stinson actually won 3 out of the 4 precincts in Ward 4.

Stinson won every precinct except the one precinct comprising the homes around the Legends of Massillon Golf Course.

The three precincts Stinson won are known as the Traditional 4th Ward.

Stinson actually received 71.5% of the vote in the Traditional 4th Ward.

But, under the leadership of Joy and Frank Cicchinelli, the homeowners around the Legends Golf Course have been whipped into a virtual political party.

And in the one precinct comprising the Legends of Massillon Golf Course, Stinson only received 12.8% of the vote.

12.8%.

He almost got into a fist fight protecting the golf course, and his reward from the Legends homeowners was 12.8%.

As we have already discussed, this one precinct (1 of 26 citywide) was responsible for over 10% of the entire Democratic vote in the City of Massillon.

This one precinct in Ward 4 was responsible for almost 57% of the entire Ward 4 vote.

And they gave their sitting councilman, a man who tirelessly fought for their cause, an embarrasing 12.8% of the vote.

We find it odd that Jill Creamer, who's husband was the former Massillon Tigers Boys Basketball Coach, has struck up such a tight alliance with Team Cicchinelli.

Surely they are aware of the rumors that The Extraordinary One was part of a faction that wanted Matt Creamer out as coach?

But politics makes strange bedfellows, and the Creamers are all in with the Cicchinellis.

And Shaddrick Stinson is out after suffering a Legendary political defeat.

Despite carrying the water of the homeowners at the Legends Golf Course, his reward was 12.8% of the vote.

The Extraordinary One is back flexing his political muscle.

In a Legendary fashion.
  

Thursday, May 7, 2015

I am Legends

According to the Stark County Board of Elections, the City of Massillon is divided into 26 geographically defined voting districts. These are called precincts. Each of Massillon's 6 council wards is comprised of 4-5 of these precincts.

In Tuesday's primary election, voting turn out was very low.

Except in one area.

In the Massillon mayor's race, 2,274 Democratic votes were cast.

Over 10% of these votes came from just one precinct.

The precinct which comprises the homeowners around the Legends of Massillon Golf Course.

Under the leadership of the Cicchinelli clan, who live adjacent to the golf course, the residents around the Legends have been whipped into a political frenzy because they believe their basic rights are under attack.

The right to life, liberty, and a taxpayer subsidized golf course.

Mayor Catazaro-from-Perry did not fair so well with the Cicchinelli/Legends coalition, receiving less than 34% of the vote.

Even though Catazaro-from-Perry has promised to keep the golf course open, and merely wants to improve operations, they want someone more amenable to their views.

The City may be broke, the parks may need major improvements, but by God, we better have a golf course.

The Legends homeowners clearly know who their daddy is, the man who brought us unsustainable golf course debt, the man who broke Massillon's parks so we could pay for the ill fated golf course expansion, a fellow golf course homeowner, the Extraordinary One himself, Frank Cicchinelli.

And Cicchinelli surrogate J. Davis Ress received over 64% of the Legends vote.

Because the apparent big problem in Massillon must surely be that we just aren't doing enough for the golf course.

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Let's Get Ready to Rumble!

Primary Election Day has come and gone in the City of Champions.

The preliminaries are over as Tiger Town readies itself for the political rematch of the century, the main event of the election season, Cicchinelli vs. Catazaro-Perry II, The War to Settle the Score.

Voter turnout in Massillon yesterday was absolutely dismal as less than 2,300 Democratic voters cast a ballot in the mayor's race.

Shameful. We can certainly do better!

Cicchinelli surrogate J. David Ress benefited from the abysmally low turnout, grabbed the Cicchinelli loyalist support, which would never miss an election, and ran the incumbent mayor reasonably close.

In November, however, there will be no more surrogate. The Extraordinary One will be back, warts and all, to undertake the battle his stalking horse began.

City Democrats were indeed in a feisty mood as they dumped two out of the three council members running for re-election.

Cicchinelli loyalist Jill Creamer, who, with the help of the Cicchinelli clan, has turned the homeowners around the Legends of Massillon Golf Course into a virtual political party, crushed incumbent Shaddrick Stinson.

Apparently Jill Creamer and her husband Matt, our former WHS Boys Basketball Head Coach, have forgiven The Extraordinary One for his alleged role in Creamer's departure as coach.

Politics does indeed make strange bedfellows.

To the collective disappointment of the Massillon Review,  Councilwoman Michelle Del Rio Keller lost an agonizingly close election to Catazaro-from-Perry loyalist Linda Litman.

Michelle Del Rio Keller is one of the few members of city council who brought real solutions to Massillon's problems. She wasn't political. She made tough decisions for the betterment of the entire community.

She is a true public servant.

We wish her well.

The question now becomes whether or not Massillon voters, all of Massillon's voters and not just a small cadre of Democratic loyalists, will return the keys to the kingdom to Team Cicchinelli.

Whatever happens, we imagine it will be quite the battle!

Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Cicchinelli for Cicchinelli


To the surprise of, well, to the surprise of absolutely nobody, Massillon's Once and Future Mayor for Life, The Extraordinary One, King Francis the Eternal, is once more running for mayor.

We are indeed stunned by this development.

Shocked.

Who could have ever guessed he would make a come back?

We did, way back on January 29, 2013.

Over two years ago.

Today, Frank Cicchinelli issued his Declaration of Independence, releasing himself from the shackles of the Democratic Party he served under during his brief 38 year reign as a Massillon elected official, the last 24 years as mayor.

While we are indeed confident that this was not a pure political decision fueled by his inability to defeat "That Woman," Mayor Kathy Catazaro-from-Perry straight up in the Democratic primary, but an assertion of his newly found Independent principles, principles discovered, no doubt, as a result of deep reflection and meditation during his 3 and a half years wandering in the political desert, or in his case, wandering around the Legends of Massillon golf course.

Yes, Massillon's Eternal Leader has seen the light, and realizes just how 'Independent' he is.

As Cicchinelli enjoys a golf course view from his house on the Legends of Massillon, we wanted to provide him with a brief update on golf course finances.

The debt on the golf course, the golf course he shackled Massillon's Parks and Recreation Department with, will be paid off shortly... in 2032. Only 17 more years.

Fortunately, there is but a small pittance left on the loan.

A mere 5 and a quarter million dollars.

A small price to pay.

Back when Cicchinelli merged the golf course with the Parks Department, some cynical anti-Cicchinelli types believed this was just a ruse to use money that should have been going to fix our parks to subsidize the massive golf course debt.

Of course though, our Extraordinary mayor quickly put those rumors to rest.

"The Mayor explained that the merging of these two areas will maximize resources of the current departments and provide an organizational structure which will promote efficient operations giving top notch service to the public. The Mayor believes this decision now, in the long term, will be beneficial to everyone, and he stated that they promised the citizens that the city would not subsidize this golf course" (Parks and Recreation Board minutes, November 14, 2002).

And if you can't trust a man who just declared his 'Independence,' who can you trust?

Today is Election Day in the City of Champions, and 'Democrat' J. David Ress is challenging the incumbent, Cicchinelli slayer Kathy Catazaro-from-Perry in the Democratic primary.

As Cicchinelli's wife, the carpetbagger from Altoona, and Cicchinelli Safety Service Director Mike Loudiana circulated Ress' petitions, with Frank Cicchinelli the first petition signer, coupled with the fact Ress isn't even a registered Democrat, we doubt Cicchinelli is holding his breath for a Ress win.

Ress was clearly a stalking horse, tossed into the race to force Catazaro-from-Perry to spend money, and to attack her and soften her up so the Extraordinary One may improve his chances in November.

When he was running for mayor in the past, Cicchinelli would have yard signs which read, "Massillon for Cicchinelli, Cicchinelli for Massillon."

We believe he may wish to consider new signage for his November battle. Something more in line with his new political principles.

"Cicchinelli for Cicchinelli" seems more appropriate.

Monday, May 4, 2015

The Life of the Party

A recent informal poll of the Massillon Review staff asked them to rank America's best presidents of the past 50 years.

The non-scientific results placed Ronald Reagan at the top of the list. According to Review staffers, Reagan ushered in an era of American exceptionalism.

He cut taxes, unleashed prosperity, and set forth the policies that allowed our country to win the Cold War. If there was room on Mount Rushmore for one more president, The Gipper would make a fine choice.

But, as much as we are Ronald Reagan fans, we realize he is probably not the first choice of most partisan Democrats. We believe they would opt for, well, for more 'Democratic' choices, such as Truman, Kennedy, or even Bill Clinton.

When queried this past Saturday by The Independent newspaper as to the political leader 'Democratic' mayoral candidate J. David Ress most admired, he chose Ronald Reagan.

"Ress said Ronald Reagan, who was a Republican, is a political leader he has always looked up to."

Odd choice for a Democratic political candidate.

Except that Ress isn't a Democrat.

And according to the Catazaro-from-Perry campaign, he never was.

At least not for "decades."

And "decades" is a pretty long time.

Which adds credence to the argument that J. David Ress is merely a stalking horse for our Once and Future Mayor for Life, The Extraordinary One, King Francis the Eternal.

And that Ress is running in Tuesday's Democratic Primary election merely to soften up the current mayor, so that The Extraordinary One will have an easier path back to the mayor's office, now that he has issued his Declaration of Independence.

If J. David is an Independent voter, he should have run for mayor as an Independent.

If J. David is a Republican voter, he should have run for mayor as a Republican.

What is clear is that he is not a Democratic voter, so one must really consider his motivation for running as a Democrat.

What motivated him to join the Democratic Party, at least for this Tuesday?

We assume his motivation was extraordinary.

Friday, May 1, 2015

An Extraordinary Stalking Horse

Stalking Horse -

From the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary -

"someone or something that is used to hide a true purpose; especially: a candidate for a political office or position who has no real chance of winning but is being used by a political party to weaken the support for an opposing party, to find out if another candidate might be successful..."

Perhaps they should add, "See J. David Ress."

Massillon's Once & Future Mayor for Life, the Extraordinary One, King Francis the Eternal, Lord Sovereign of the City, served as Mayor of Massillon for 24 years. It has long been argued his entire identity has been tied up in being the mayor. It is what he is. It is how he sees himself.

And even though most everyone, except his fanatical loyalists, agree he financially decimated the City of Champions in his final years, he is coming back to reclaim what he believes is rightfully his.

And make no doubt about it, this was no spur of the moment decision. It is believed by many that he has been plotting his return since the day he left the mayor's office at the end of 2011.

He knew he couldn't defeat Queen Katherine the Usurper in a Democratic Primary.

She already whooped him once.

The odds of convincing over 50% of Massillon's voters to support his attempt to snatch a seventh 4 year term as mayor were long indeed.

Most of Massillon realizes who busted the city's piggy bank.

But Frank is a man with a plan.

He would run as an Independent, forsaking the 38 years he served Massillon as an elected Democrat.

It wasn't that his political philosophy had changed. Many around town believe his political philosophy has always been an adherence to whatever political ideology will best suit his political ambitions.

Perhaps in a three way race, against the Republican and Democratic Party nominees, he could eek out a win with a little over a third of the vote, and return to the mayor's office through the back door.

Leaving nothing to chance, he and his lackeys decided that he would utilize the Democratic Primary as an opportunity to beat up Queen Katherine the Usurper. Make her spend money she would otherwise spend in a campaign against them, and soften her up in May before The Extraordinary One takes her on in November.

A preliminary bout before the main event.

But who to get to do his dirty work?

A real Democrat would have scoffed at the opportunity to help elect an 'Independent' as mayor.

So he didn't find a real Democrat.

He found a patsy. A stalking horse to do his dirty work.

He found J. David Ress.

J. David Ress' claim to fame is that he "broadcasts" a local public access television show on MCTV. He gets the airtime for free, and then sells sponsorships to local businesses.

J. David Ress is no Democrat. According to the Catazaro-from-Perry campaign, he hasn't voted in a Democratic Primary "for decades."

As "decades" is plural, we will assume it is more than one decade.

The Catazaro-from-Perry campaign further argues that the nominating petitions Ress must circulate for signatures of Massillon citizens were circulated by none other than the Mrs. Once and Future Mayor for Life, Joy Cicchinelli, and Mike Loudiana, former Safety Service Director for the Extraordinary One.

And the first "citizen" signer for J. David's petition?

The Extraordinary One himself.

If Cicchinelli intended all along to run for mayor, and we assume he did, why would he assist J. David Ress, if he thought Ress would win.

He never thought Ress would win.

It would appear Ress' job is to attack the incumbent mayor.

And soften her up for the main event.

And lose the Democratic Primary.

And set the wheels in motion for an Extraordinary Main Event in November!


Thursday, April 30, 2015

An Extraordinary Declaration of Independence

To no one's surprise, Massillon's once and future Mayor for Life, Francis H. Cicchinelli, Jr., is running to reclaim what is rightfully his - the office of Mayor of Massillon.

A mere four years ago, he was knocked out in the Democratic Primary by 'that woman,' the Usurper from Perry Township, Kathy Catazaro-from-Perry.

Despite the fact that Cicchinelli left the City of Champions in desperate financial straits as he departed, unable to pay its bills and racked with debt, it was clear he would return.

He had to.

For what is Massillon without Frank Cicchinelli at the helm?

So it appears Our Dear Leader, our Once and Future Mayor for Life, is running as an Independent.

After a mere 38 years as a Democratic office older, he is shedding the shackles of the Democratic Party to declare his 'Independence.'

Perhaps, over the past 3 and 1/2 years wandering in the wilderness, contemplating his inevitable return to power, he re-examined his deeply held political ideology and determined that fidelity to the principles of the Democratic Party were principles he no longer subscribed to.

Or

He realized that under no circumstances would 50% of Massillon city voters ever vote for him to be mayor again.

Running as an Independent, he could avoid a Democratic primary against 'that woman,' a primary which he comfortably lost in 2011, and more than likely would have lost again.

So how to slip through the back door.

Running as an Independent, he could participate in a three way race with the Democratic nominee, the Republican nominee, and himself. While achieving 50% of the vote in Massillon was probably off the table for the Extraordinary One, getting 33% was more in his wheelhouse.

It is believed our Once and Future Mayor for Life was a Democrat only because the Democrats are the majority political party in Massillon.

It is well storied that in college, Cicchinelli was an ardent supporter of Republican Richard Nixon.

It would appear that his only overriding political conviction is adherence to whichever philosophy puts him back in the mayor's office.

Massillon Democrats may rightfully feel scorned, as they believe The Extraordinary One was merely using them for their votes.

Or maybe becoming 'Independent' wasn't a cold, political calculation designed to allow the former 38 year Democratic office holder the ability to slip through the back door of city government. Maybe he truly had a change of heart, a political conversion as he was blinded by the light of his new, 'Independent' convictions.

We believe that most of Massillon will believe the former.

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

An Extraordinary Return to the City of Champions!

"...he (Frank Cicchinelli), is an extraordinary mayor."
- Former Safety Service Director Mike Loudiana

The Land and the King are one.

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Happy Thanksgiving!

 
 
We have much to be thankful for in the City of Champions this year.
 
Despite the confusion of one of our council members, as he authored his rubric for better parks management, we are thankful we live in Massillon, and not Brunswick.
 
"The Director of Parks and Recreation shall have the control and management of parks, park entrances, parkways, children's playgrounds, public recreation facilities, gymnasiums, swimming pools, playfields, or indoor recreational centers, and any lands or buildings set aside for park or recreational use by the public, and the acquisition, construction, repair, and maintenance thereof. The Director shall create and supervise all Recreational Programs for the City of Brunswick."
 
 
We are thankful we have chosen elected officials who focus on the big issues of the day and the serious concerns facing our city... like where the mayor and her staff sit at council meetings.
 
Thank you Milan, Sarita, Nancy and Quinessa for keeping your laser like focus on what is truly important to the people you represent.
 
We are thankful for the attention to the will of the people displayed by some members of our city council.
 
Back in May, over 68 percent of the voters rejected a plan to make Massillon's city income tax one of the highest in Ohio.
 
One would think that plan would be dead and buried.
 
But it isn't.
 
Because no doesn't really mean no, and we fully expect the income tax increase proposal to come forward again in 2014.
 
We are thankful that the Extraordinary One, Massillon's Once & Future Mayor for Life does not believe his rejection by city voters in 2011, and the multi-million dollar "vat of red ink" he left his successor should deter his return to the mayor's office.
 
We anticipate his extraordinary return.
 
Because he provides us abundant topics on which to write.
 
And we are thankful.
 
But most of all, we are thankful for our readers.
 
You are truly the "extraordinary ones," and we hope you enjoy a Happy Thanksgiving!

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

A Fountain of Misinformation

The Independent newspaper ran a story today squelching the persistent rumor that the Massillon Senior Center was closing.

No one has proposed it should close.

The mayor has not proposed closing it;

"I have no intention of closing the senior center if I'm in charge," the mayor said. "I would like to expand it and grow the building so more people can use it." (The Independent, November 26, 2013)

City Council has not proposed closing it;

"City Councilman Ed Lewis, R-Ward 6, said council has not discussed closing or moving the facility, nor does it plan to draft legislation to do either." (The Independent, November 26, 2013).

Some of the speculation is a result of the retirement of long time director Nancy Johnson.

Word on the street is some of the speculation comes as a result of Massillon's one woman rumor mill, Ward 2 Councilwoman Nancy Halter.

It would appear nobody likes spreading a rumor more than Nancy Halter.

Among other rumors passed along by Councilwoman Halter according to our faithful readers include;

Mayor Kathy Catazaro-from-Perry resigning after the first of the year, and moving out of town, Florida we understand.

And this summer's rumor of Mayor Kathy Catazaro-from-Perry resigning to take a job in Washington.

There is naturally going to be some angst and speculation among Massillon residents about various governmental services in our Fair City as a result of the city being placed into fiscal emergency by the state auditor.

Feeding that speculation via rumor and innuendo is not a productive way for our elected leaders to spend their time. As an elected official, you have credibility with the people you serve. They will believe you.

Massillon has serious problems. We urge our elected leaders not to throw gasoline on the proverbial fire and stoke the fears of our residents.

Running a city is serious business.

Stop the gossip and get back to work.

Friday, November 22, 2013

Success in the City of Champions!

Windsor Ontario's loss appears to be Massillon's gain.

If you thought the Federal League was "anti-Massillon," you should see what the people in Windsor, Ontario had to say about our beloved City of Champions when it was announced that the Heinz Corporation was closing it's Windsor area plant and moving production to other cities, including Massillon, Ohio.

What was Windsor's loss is Massillon's gain.

In what has to be the singular biggest achievement of the regime of Massillon's new leader, Kathy Catazaro-from-Perry, she and her team negotiated a deal not only keeping the 450 local jobs at the Heinz corporation in Massillon, but adding another 249 jobs.

Almost 750 jobs in a city of about 32,000 people.

To say this is a big deal is a vast understatement.

Business retention and expansion is an ultra-competitive game between communities, and this is a huge win for Massillon.

While we are surprised that Catazaro-from-Perry did not try to move the Heinz plant to her home and native land, the vast pagan wasteland known as Perry Township, we are sure her detractors are vexed.

On one hand, this was a great coup for Massillon.

On the other hand, Catazaro-Perry gets credit for doing it.

According to the Windsor (Ontario) Star newspaper, the Heinz corporation will be investing $28 million dollars in the new Massillon plant.

This means Heinz will be part of the Massillon business landscape for some time to come.

And the best part, unlike some past deals negotiated by a certain past mayor, Massillonians aren't on the hook for the mortgage.